Edit and Preview Modes
The Stage works in two different modes. The Edit mode gives you control over setting up your multi-touch scenario. The Preview mode gives you a means to test a scenario while you work on it.
Using the Edit mode to set up your multi-touch interface is a good way of creating the general structure of your project. Just drop the available assets and components into the Stage and move them around to your liking. In further steps, you can refine the settings more precisely by entering the exact values for the property settings within the Inspector.
As shown in the screenshot above, you can select individual components and move or resize them in the Stage. As you do this in Edit mode, their corresponding size and position properties in the Inspector will be changed by your mouse actions. This won't occur in Preview mode.
The Preview mode offers a live rendering of your multi-touch project as you work on it. As a general rule, this works the same way as the multi-touch system your Touch Player is running on. It is the mode that you might want to work in most of the time. To learn more about the Stage, see Understanding the Stage.
Switching from Preview mode to Edit mode preserves the temporary state of modified components. When you switch back to Preview mode, you can continue the preview as you have left it. However, if you move the blue container frame of a component in Edit mode, its preview state will be changed accordingly.
While working in Preview mode, left-clicking inside the Stage with the mouse emulates simple touches. To emulate more complex touches like pinch-zooms or rotations, you can set a fixed touch by right clicking. Left-clicks and drags emulate the pinches. To remove a fixed touch, right-click on it again.
Reloading the Stage
When opening a project, all components will be shown in their initial states in the stage. After having worked extensively in Review mode, it is useful to have a way to reload the scene back to its initial state. To do this manually, click on the button in the toolbar.
"Reload" means the entire project is unloaded and loaded again. As a result, all scenes and components are put to their initial states. The position and sizes are reset, any actions that have been triggered are undone, and all applied styles are deactivated, except for the Original styles.